Greens and Beans Quesadilla

Image

I’m posting this as a general idea rather than a recipe. It was an okay lunch, but it wasn’t great, and it certainly wasn’t rocket science. One thing I like about cooking from a CSA share is that I can stock my kitchen with basic ingredients and then combine them in interesting ways depending on the produce and my mood. (I’ll share what some of these staples/basic recipe formulas are in another post.)

One way to use any extra veggies you have lying around is to put them in a quesadilla. Really, any combination of bean (or meat, I suppose), veggies, and cheese (vegans, soy cheese, or do you have another key quesadilla ingredient?) will do. Today I needed a quick lunch, so I thought I’d use some beet greens, white beans (I had Great Northern), and sharp cheddar.

I sauteed the beet greens (about 3 cups) with half of a garlic scape in about a teaspoon of olive oil, and seasoned with a pinch of nutmeg, kosher salt (all I use), and pepper. Then I added the whole can of drained Great Northern beans and cooked it all until the beans were warm. This yielded enough filling for 3-4 quesadillas. I’d rather have the filling made for later than 1/2 a can of beans lying around, but you could make as much as you like.

In terms of the quesadilla, I pan-fried it in a bit of olive oil. I think I used about 3 tablespoons of grated sharp cheddar. It wasn’t enough for me. My favorite bites were the cheesiest ones (I know this will come as a huge surprise).  I also think this recipe could be much improved with a better dipping sauce. I just used the generic salsa we had in our fridge, but a great sauce could make all the difference.

I will keep experimenting with different beans, greens, herbs and spices, and sauces and post a good recipe when I have one. What are your favorite quesadilla combinations?

One thought on “Greens and Beans Quesadilla

  1. Pingback: Week 1: Recap « No Produce Left Behind

Leave a Reply

