Lentils and Greens Rice Bowl with Coconut Sauce

Image

This isn’t the prettiest dish I’ve ever made. It was much prettier before the baby needed me and my greens turned into browns. They still tasted pretty good though. I basically copied my friend Kate’s idea here and made a couple tiny modifications based on what I was working with (different greens and no veggie broth). The sauce is AMAZING. It makes more than you need for this recipe, and frankly, I think it will be great to keep around for recipe failures. Because anything smothered in this sauce will be edible if not delicious.

The basic idea:

1. Make some brown rice. 2. Make some brown lentils. 3. When the brown lentils are almost done, wilt the greens in  the lentils. 4. Put rice and lentils in a bowl. 5. Pour this sauce over the top.

Here are some more specific instructions and the quantities I used:

Ingredients:

1 1/2 c. brown rice

1 1/2 c. brown lentils, sorted and rinsed

1/2 small onion, chopped

1 small bunch mustard greens, thick stems removed and chopped into bite-size pieces

1 medium bunch kale, thick stems removed and chopped into bite-size pieces

salt, pepper, and curry powder to taste

1 recipe Spicy Lemon Coconut Sauce (includes garlic, jalapeno, scallions, cilantro, coconut milk, and lemon juice)

Procedure:

1. Begin cooking brown rice according to package. I used 2 1/4 c. water and simmered for about 35 minutes.

2. Saute the onion in a bit of olive oil. Add lentils to pan. Cover with 3 1/2 c. water and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn down the heat to medium-low and simmer for about 35-40 minutes.

3. Make the sauce. I used my food processor.

4. When the lentils are tender, throw the greens in the pan and cook until they are wilted to your desired doneness. Salt and pepper the lentils to taste. I also threw in a pinch of curry powder, but I’m not sure it made much of a difference.

5. Spoon the rice and lentils into a bowl and top with a couple spoonfuls of sauce. Enjoy!

This recipe made me think about how I completely under-utilize sauces. I just tend to make a lot of one-pot meals that could probably be greatly enhanced with delicious sauces. What are your favorites?

2 thoughts on “Lentils and Greens Rice Bowl with Coconut Sauce

  1. Pingback: Moroccan-Inspired Chickpeas and Beet Greens with Couscous « No Produce Left Behind

  2. Pingback: Week 1: Recap « No Produce Left Behind

Leave a Reply

