Week 2: The Haul

Image

This week’s bounty:

10 radishes (with greens)

1 bag of spinach

1 bunch of swiss chard

1 bunch of kale

(from last week): 1 garlic scape

I’m feeling a little uninspired with these greens. I also bought some potatoes and a cauliflower at the farmer’s market that I have to use.

Here’s what I’m thinking for now:

For one meal, a cold avocado/basil/radish soup that is in this month’s Martha Stewart Living magazine. I would serve this with radish and butter sandwiches (they’re actually good!) and kale chips. (It seems like the recipes really vary with oven temperature–has anyone made these and can offer a suggestion?)

I’m kind of interesting in a quinoa pilaf recipe that includes spinach, apples, and walnuts. I also have a rainbow chard pasta recipe with raisins and pine nuts, but that idea/flavor combination seems pretty similar to the quinoa. We may try it anyway.

Another idea for the spinach: there’s a great recipe for spinach and cheese burritos in Moosewood’s Simple Suppers (which is a great cookbook, by the way). Or we could go with breakfast for dinner and have baked eggs with spinach…

I’ll plan on the radish soup meal for tomorrow and go from there. Have a great week!

One thought on “Week 2: The Haul

  1. Joe and I have been working on a great fridge pickling recipe that i will be posting on my blog soon I will let you know when I do. Also, are you going to be making any baby food for the wee one? That could be fun, I think a lot of people would be interested in that.

Leave a Reply

