Week 3: The Haul

Image

Beets are back! And we have pok choi this week, so I’m excited. Here’s what I came home with today:

7 beets with greens

1 head of pok choi (it’s almost the same as boy choy, apparently, and looks the same to me)

1 bunch kale

2 garlic scapes

1 head lettuce

1 small bunch mustard greens

Here are some ideas I have for this week:

For the beets, I’m curious about this Gaborscht recipe in Veganomicon. I would have to buy a cucumber and tomatoes, but I think it would be worth it. I’ve been curious about it for a couple of years now.

There’s a great recipe for a bok choy and peanut recipe in Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone that I’ll probably use the pok choi in.

I can use the kale (and probably the mustard greens) in either this hash recipe or a modified version of this pasta recipe. They share many components; it just depends on what we’re feeling in terms of starch.

For the lettuce, I thought my friend Ellis’ taco salad sounded really good, so we might give that a try. Or a different sort of salad.

We’re busy this weekend, and I won’t be cooking anything until Sunday night, so we’ll see how our cravings/ideas shift over the next few days.

Leave a Reply

