Potato and Greens Hash with White Beans

Hash is another great simple and quick supper. Potatoes kind of get a bad rap nutritionally, but they have a lot to offer (Vitamin C, Potassium, Fiber–with skins on) as long as you consider them a starch and not a vegetable in menu planning. My basic hash recipe includes potatoes, red peppers/onions/garlic, an additional vegetable, beans, and a little cheese. This recipe is one I wrote for a meal-planning blog I contributed to. I basically used the same recipe but added mustard greens as well as kale, which gave the dish a pleasant sporadic horseradishy bite. Any other great hash ideas out there? (I also like sweet potatoes, black beans, and tomatoes!)

3 thoughts on “Potato and Greens Hash with White Beans

  1. Pingback: Week 3: Recap « No Produce Left Behind

  2. Hi Brenna, I just wanted to say that I enjoy your posts and recipes. I tried a version of your “Hash” using russet potatoes, onion, garlic, great northern beans, and and yellow squash instead of kale. It was pretty good 🙂 I usually like soups because you can throw in anything you have in the fridge, and this is the same idea. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • I’m so glad you tried your own version and liked it. To me, that’s the best part of cooking with what you have… I always feel happy about coming up with something new. Hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

