Coconut Red Lentils and Chard with Cardamom Jasmine Rice

We had a great weekend; how about you? Yesterday my parents came up and stayed with the babe so John and I could go on a bike ride with some friends. Part of lunch was a great beet salad with oranges, almonds, and goat cheese. I forgot to take a picture, though, so I might save that post for when I make it again with the remaining beets later this week. Tonight I used the chard to make some red lentils and greens, which I served with cardamom jasmine rice with fruit and nuts. I thought it turned out pretty well.

Coconut Red Lentils and Chard:

Ingredients:

1 T. olive oil

1/2 medium white onion, coarsely chopped

1/2 cup chopped carrots

2 small garlic cloves, minced

1 T. curry powder

1 t. ground cumin

1/2 t. turmeric

1 c. red lentils, rinsed and drained

2. c. water

1 medium bunch swiss chard, tough ends removed and cut into bite-sized ribbons

1 c. coconut milk

salt and pepper to taste

(I added some thawed frozen green beans I had thawed for another recipe. My trick for meals that are lower in calories is to just make them denser with more veggies. I thought they were good in here, but you could omit them or exchange them for another veggie.)

Procedure:

1. Saute the onion, carrots, and garlic in the olive oil for about five minutes, or until the onion begins to soften.

2. Add the spices to the pan and saute for a minute or so. Add the water and bring to a boil.

3. Add the lentils, stir, and once the mixture is bubbling again, reduce the heat to medium low. Cook uncovered for fifteen minutes or so, or until the lentils are soft and most of the water has been absorbed.

4. Add the chard, pour the coconut milk over the top, and throw on a pinch of salt. (This is where I added my green beans, too.) Stir it up and continue to cook uncovered until most of the moisture is absorbed and lentils are very soft.

5. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve with cardamom jasmine rice (recipe follows) or grain of your choice.

 

Cardamom Jasmine Rice with Raisins and Almonds

Ingredients:

1 c. uncooked jasmine rice

2 t. butter

1 t. salt

1 t. cinnamon

1/2 t. cardamom

1/2 c. chopped roasted almonds

1/2 c. raisins

Procedure:

1. Cook rice how you prefer. I prefer to boil mine in lots of water because I am insanely bad at making white rice.

2. When rice is finished, melt butter in hot rice and add salt and spices. Stir to coat. Add raisins and almonds.

I would like to try this recipe with other dried fruit and nuts, but it added a nice depth of flavor to the meal. Enjoy!

 

 

One thought on “Coconut Red Lentils and Chard with Cardamom Jasmine Rice

  1. Pingback: Week 6: Recap « No Produce Left Behind

Leave a Reply

