Beet Orange Salad with Goat Cheese and Almonds

I know it seems silly to include oranges on a local food project in July in Iowa. I apologize. I just wanted to see how these flavors would play out together, and it was a winner.

I didn’t used to like beets, or so I thought. It took a heartfelt plea by my friend Betsy after a 20 hour car ride that made me reconsider. It turns out that the firm bite and earthy flavor warranted a second try. The first time I ate a beet as an adult it was almost a ritual. I boiled the beet just like Betsy told me, placed a pat of butter on top and watched it melt down the side, sprinkled with salt, and ate with a fork and knife, noticing each bite. It was delicious.

Now I think an easy salad formula is beets, fruit, nuts, cheese. This one was beets, oranges, almonds, goat cheese. The specifics follow.

Beet Orange Salad with Goat Cheese and Almonds

(salad for two)

Ingredients:

2 medium beets, scrubbed

1/2 navel orange, peeled, segmented, and cut into bite-sized pieces

1/3 c. roasted almonds, chopped

2 T. goat cheese, crumbled (or more or less)

1 c. of greens of your choice (I used spinach)

dressing:

2 T. freshly squeezed orange juice

2 T. balsamic vinegar

2 T. olive oil

1/2 t. smoked paprika

salt and pepper to taste

Procedure:
1. Prepare the beets. I wrapped mine in foil and baked them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes. Tip: I cooked all my beets when I brought them home, and they were ready to use in salads, etc. for the rest of the week.

2. Prepare the other ingredients. Whisk the dressing ingredients together.

3. Reserve a small amount of beets and oranges for garnish. Then toss the greens with the rest of the beets and oranges in the dressing. Garnish the top of the salad with reserved beets and oranges, goat cheese, and almonds. Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Beet Orange Salad with Goat Cheese and Almonds

  1. Pingback: Week 6: Recap « No Produce Left Behind

Leave a Reply

